Dialogue III: Sexism in Genesis and logical minds!

Privately messaged to me regarding my comments upon metaphysics and ancient gods, I recently took part in an interesting dialogue with a young woman who values alternative culture, feminism and the occult. Which led to a brief exchange of ideas concerning whether or not God as revealed in the Torah is an omnipotent sexist! Enjoy.

10/16/2014 11:22:43 PM Luna
And when it come to ancient gods, they make more sense than the twisted s*** — trying not to swear lol which is the bible. I argued with some guys at the door that it was just a children’s guide to that age and we shouldn’t take it so bloody literally. Goddamit you got me started now! 😀

amensign.gif~c200 10/16/2014 11:27:50 PM OldSchoolContemporary

Twisted? Have you ever read the Bible? If so could you quote which portion you’re offended by? As to react in the way you have is how many people behave towards you, since you belong to and self-identify with the Goth subculture.


amensign.gif~c200 10/16/2014 11:42:14 PM OldSchoolContemporary

If all you see when you read such a book is an omnipotent dictator then you’re surely not seeing what’s there, just what you want to see. Ideas like divine Providence, the incarnation and Christ’s death as the Passover Lamb are in fact some of the richest and most in-depth notions ever described. Of course if your view on it is informed by popular culture you won’t see any of that.


10/16/2014 11:51:33 PM Luna

I’m the sort of girl where I’m like yay go girls, I didn’t think it was fair to say that women were made from man and that after women came so did sin. Thanks guys, its not like our say didn’t matter until votes for women. Yay we are sin and we were never as important as a man and we got you kicked out of your club man. I have been reading the bible, I don’t bash without actual cause that’s what morons do. I actually know loads of Christian people….they creep me out a little but I know they mean well but then again I have scared people before now too.


amensign.gif~c200 10/17/2014 12:00:03 AM OldSchoolContemporary

If you have read, which I believe you’ve done, you’d know that Adam also ate of the forbidden fruit, nowhere within the text is Eve allotted substantial blame over him, although Adam certainly blames his wife, both male and female are punished. What you’ve written is something you read into the text, like someone who walks into a bar looking for a fight, no matter how friendly the face, or how warm the welcome that person will have their fight. As for “We are sin” that doesn’t exist in the text either, we are sinners according to the Biblical narrative, and who would claim they’re morally perfect in this world today? No one surely.


amensign.gif~c200 10/17/2014 12:03:55 AM OldSchoolContemporary

Actually, Genesis 3:17 is a rebuking of Adam for choosing his wife over God, in a sense. So….


10/17/2014 12:14:25 AM Luna

I’m trying to find the book now… I don’t even remember the bible name. yeah after it bashed I was done. My patience is very little sometimes and on that particular day I was done. See at the time when I read this I was looking into demonology specifically the green man. I wanted to learn about how the green man and the devil were connected in a more literal term.


amensign.gif~c200 10/17/2014 8:49:49 AM OldSchoolContemporary

And why look into the devil if the Bible is childish and awful like how you claim? It all seems a tiny bit confused. Let me know your reasoning, it would be nice to get a better understanding.


10/17/2014 9:20:20 PM Luna

I never said it was childish I said I thought it was a guide basically for the people of that age which considering the logical minds we have now they must have been like children. People of that time was in chaos and this must have seemed like an answers to their prayers, but I don’t think all of it should be taken so literally. I never used the word childish I actually enjoy some of the stories due to being much like poetry.


amensign.gif~c200 10/17/2014 9:29:00 PM OldSchoolContemporary

The logical minds we have now? Isn’t that a wee bit arrogant? We’re technologically advanced, that’s all. As Sir Isaac Newton said: “If I appear tall it’s because I stand on the shoulders of giants.” We’re merely parading the last generations’ doings as if they’re our own. When reading Plato, Saul of Tarsus, or even Napoleon, their wit and genius resonant far greater than anyone I’ve met or spoken to in modern times. It seems Hubris to assume we, who over the last hundred years have killed more people than at any other time in human existence, are the brights in an otherwise dim history.


amensign.gif~c200 10/17/2014 9:45:28 PM OldSchoolContemporary

Think of this for example, imagine if we had what scientists call a theory of everything, a T.O.E. Wouldn’t questions like why am I here, and is goodness real still remain? These questions won’t go away, and the people of ancient times appeared to have greater insights than us in the last hundred years, since our greatest contribution to peace appears to have been the atomic bomb! Now we’ve all got one to protect each other from ourselves.


10/17/2014 9:46:04 PM Luna

You don’t think I know this? I think at the time the interpretation was to guide but now some of it is taken too literally, wars are waged and people die everyday but still sins are laid upon children born in my eyes innocent. Its only the actions we make in our lives that make us sinners. Again considering the logical minds today the people of that time must have Seemed like children. Some of the tales were put there to guide others to warn, I try not to take it so serious where some do.


What follows, although cordial, was less academic in content, and therefore wouldn’t be of any use here. However I’m expectant that what I’ve written will be a help to someone somewhere in their time of trouble, furthermore I’d like readers to note that the above isn’t the doings of a well armed scholar, one who with an armoury of textbooks and relevant references at hand has already ensured victory over his hapless prey, rather I’m an ordinary man within my twenties, just as my conversation partner is in their twenties, what truly divided us was the openness of our hearts to scripture, not gender. Though God has given men and women different roles, roles which many suchlike absent fathers and neglectful mothers refuse to conform to, He spared nothing of our worth, making both male and female in His image. (Genesis 1:27) Yet God is invisible (Colossians 1:15), having not an image as we know image, meaning God created us sharing his rational mind, as both men and women like Him possess personhood and are moral agents.

To write of sexism isn’t justifiable therefore, so it’s my hope that you won’t be overwhelmed by cynicism and scepticism, instead take up and pour honestly over your Bible, modern writings of science and ancient documents in the hope that meaning might follow from where matter, chance and energy once were. I shall do likewise since studying what I am isn’t the ultimate pursuit of an individual, it’s the who, how and why that both myself and others are enthralled by notions of.


― T. C. M

4 thoughts on “Dialogue III: Sexism in Genesis and logical minds!

    • Rather humankind in all its wickedness stands accused, and in desperate need of a lawyer in the Lord’s court, because I, much like all others I’ve met, find ourselves guilty of breaking a law above the law, God’s law. Nevertheless, I know thereupon that day those who’ve confessed with their mouth “Jesus is Lord”, and believed in their heart that God raised him from the dead will be arrayed in a robe of his righteousness.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

